

Administrative Professional Association

Minutes of Meeting Tuesday, August 9, 2016 2:00 PM

Members Present: Sue Brandt; Carol Graysmith; Maury Koffman; Martin McDonough; Erica

Phillipich; Deb Porter; Leo Sell; Dennis Seybert; Melanie Waltz; Laura

Wise

CALL TO ORDER

Maury Koffman called the meeting to order.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Agenda of August 9, 2016 Meeting

Martin McDonough moved that the agenda for August 9, 2016, be approved as distributed. The motion was seconded by Carol Graysmith and was approved.

APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES

Minutes of June 21, 2016 Meeting

Dennis Seybert moved that the minutes of the meeting of June 21, 2016, be approved as distributed. The motion was seconded by Sue Brandt and approved.

Official Guest

Diane Scharnowske attended meeting.

Presidents Report

Maury Koffman presented his report with discussion occurring regarding member issues, meetings and announcements.

Treasurers Report

Erica Phillipich presented the monthly treasurers report. Ms. Phillipich presented the 2016-2017 proposed budget approved by the Finance Committee to the board. Discussion occurred regarding the budget and line items.

Erica Phillipich moved that the proposed Travel Reimbursement policy be approved as discussed. The motion was seconded by Deb Porter and approved.

Erica Phillipich moved that the 2016-2017 proposed budget be approved as distributed. The motion was seconded by Laura Wise and approved.

Committee Reports

Communications/Public Relations – Nothing to report

Community Based Events – Nothing to report

Contract Maintenance/Grievance – Nothing to report

Finance – Erica Phillipich informed the board of the Finance Committee meeting and discussion regarding the budget, line items and the budget process. The committee suggested changes to the Travel Reimbursement policy bringing it more in line with MEA/NEA policy. Once this suggestion was approved by the committee the proposed budget was approved by the committee.

Legislative – Nothing to report

Membership – Dennis Seybert updated the board regarding meeting schedules for Community Lunches. In addition, Mr. Seybert met with Todd Ring regarding electronic notifications for building Lunch-n-Learns. Mr. Seybert also informed the board of planned Community Lunches in Grand Rapids as well as a proposed list for the board of all lunches scheduled.

Negotiations/Bargaining – Maury Koffman updated the board on the bargaining issues.

UniServ Report

Melanie Waltz presented the UniServ report including Grievances, New Member Orientation, Employee Evaluations, and other issues.

MEMBER QUESTIONS, COMMENTS, AND CONCERNS BUSINESS AND DISCUSSION ITEMS

Joint Health Committee Coalition (JHCC)/Coalition of Labor Originations (CLO) Update Maury Koffman and Melanie Waltz updated the board regarding the Coalition of Labor and the Joint Healthcare Committee Coalition.

Appointment of APA 2016-2017 Standing Committees

Maury Koffman indicated he is reviewing the Standing Committees and will make the appointments in September.

APA MSU Tobacco Free Campus Effective August 15, 2016

Maury Koffman presented the board with information regarding the MSU Tobacco Free Campus policy effective August 15th. Discussion occurred regarding the policy and time lines.

October 2016 1% Across-the-Board APA Base Wage Increase

Maury Koffman reminded the board that this year's wage increase will be 1% to the base.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Upcoming Board Meetings: September 20, 2016 October 18, 2016

Upcoming MEA Meetings:

MEA Building Full Capacity Locals (BFCL) Training - August 18th

MEA Executive Committee Meeting – September 9th

MEA Local President's Summit – September 16th – 17th

Executive Session

Leo Sell moved to suspend the board meeting and go into Executive Session. The motion was seconded by Dennis Seybert and approved.

Deb Porter moved to return out of Executive Session. The motion was seconded by Erica Phillipich and approved.

ADJOURNMENT

Sue Brandt moved to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Laura Wise and was approved. Meeting was adjourned.

8H Coordinating Council

Meeting minutes are respectfully submitted by,

Deb Porter